PDA

View Full Version : can i leave a dye prodigy for 1 hour?

Samia ELShrkawy
July 10th, 2016, 02:31 AM
hello, i was thinking that maybe i wrap it with plastic bag and use hair dryer to heat it up so it won't dry quickly.

and can i add few drops of coconut oil in it to make it condition more and moisture or that will effect the color result in bad way.

it's shade 7 almond blond i've tried it on one strand on my medium dark brown hair it didn't lightened it well.

also i heard about soaking hair in coconut oil night before bleach it will give better result does that work with regular dye too?

one more thing .. i want to reach light blond hair can i keep dying it with lighter shade every time from prodigy till i get to blond, that will work ? without bleach.

and thank you

diddiedaisy
July 10th, 2016, 02:43 AM
I personally wouldn't advise leaving it on for that long, I would be scared of extensive damage. I bleach from dark blonde so I'm not an expert in going from darker hair, but I do know it's generally done in stages. I would highly recommend using olaplex to try and reduce damage though. I would expect someone else who has gone blonde from dark will jump in and give you more precise advise.

i also drench my hair in coconut oil the night before I dye and dye over the top of it without rinsing it out. :)

lapushka
July 10th, 2016, 03:33 AM
Box dye can only take your hair a shade or two (depends on the brand) lighter. Not more. You can't keep lightening by picking a lighter shade box dye and redyeing the previously dyed/lightened hair. That doesn't work because you're trying to dye dye that's already in your hair - you just can't do that - it's complicated.

If you want to go from a darker shade to a light shade, you'll have to use bleach, then dye/tone it to the desired color.

tigress86
July 10th, 2016, 03:38 AM