PDA

View Full Version : Humidity frizz

imaroo
July 6th, 2016, 08:49 AM
I just moved to Austin TX from Portland OR a few days ago. I always thought my hair was stick straight, but in recent years it has changed. I'm fairly certain that it's 2a and I know it's very fine.

Well now that I'm in a humid state half of my hairs are looking more 3a. It's a mess. I am at a loss as to how to cope with this. There is no summer humidity in Portland so I have no experience in such matters.

I can't put too much goop in my hair or it just gets weighed down and sticky. I also can't walk around looking like a frumpy lunatic.

Help!!

triumphator!
July 6th, 2016, 08:54 AM
Welcome to TX :D Don't worry, we're all in the same boat! Some light gel may help - especially the kind for holding curl. That way you get some definition for your newfound texture, and the benefit of less frizzies!

You'll also find that when the temperature hits 110, people don't judge you for sweat marks either, it's just expected! ;)

lapushka
July 6th, 2016, 08:58 AM
Maybe you could let us hairtype you, if you're unsure. (wash as usual S/C, then pat dry gently and let dry without touching it).

Also curly girl comes to mind.

missrandie
July 6th, 2016, 09:12 AM
Welcome to the suck heat! I live in San Antonio. I feel your pain.

In Lapushka's siggy is the rinse out oil method and LOC styling. I suggest looking at both of those, as they will help add a bit of a moisture barrier and allow your hair to stay more consistent.

Anje
July 6th, 2016, 11:32 AM