PDA

View Full Version : Is too much oil bad for your hair?

Iamsiam
June 16th, 2016, 08:24 PM
Was talking to my hairdresser friend the other day and she told me not to use leave in oils too often because it causes breakage.... I'm not too sure I believe this. I currently use both Argan and coconut oils. Is there a point where there really is too many vitamins in your hair? If you guys use leave in oils, how often do you use them?

Decoy24601
June 16th, 2016, 08:30 PM
I'm not an expert, but I guess if you put enough oil on your hair everyday and never clarify the effect can be the same as using too much cones and never clarifying. The hair shaft could be so coated that moisture could no longer penetrate. I could be completely wrong though. I've also heard that coconut oil can over saturate your hair. I use a very small amount of oil every day and a larger amount whenever I do deep treatments.

Entangled
June 16th, 2016, 10:12 PM
The breakage part doesn't make much sense to me, because most oils act as an emollient and don't do anything inside your hair. I know coconut oil can make some people's ends "crunchy;" maybe that's what she's referring to. Overall though, yes, there's almost always such thing as too much of a good thing, but many oils are pretty safe.

I do know that some oils are drying; maybe meteor has an article about that. Not all oils are good for hair all the time.

pailin
June 16th, 2016, 10:40 PM
Some oils are drying oils and you can definitely go overboard with those. And some people (like me) have problems with coconut oil. Otherwise, it's not just cones that build up, oils can too (and cones are a type of oil). But that can be dealt with, that's what clarifying is for. You mostly need to pay attention to your hair.
I don't think it's a matter of vitamins, by the way. And I don't think vitamins in oil are responsible for that much of the benefits; the hair shaft isn't living.

Anya15
June 16th, 2016, 11:06 PM