PDA

View Full Version : Nut allergy

Ponymad21
June 15th, 2016, 09:31 AM
I'm about to try the Aussie miracle moist for the first time but I have a slight nut allergy and it contains macadamia nut oil, could it cause an allergic reaction even though it is being used externally?
sorry if the isn't the right place to ask but I didn't know where else to ask

Anje
June 15th, 2016, 09:37 AM
How bad is your allergy? If it's anaphylactic, I think it's probably best not to take the risk. If it's not, I'd patch-test it if I were you. But be prepared that your reaction might change over time. (Standard "I'm not a doctor" disclaimer goes here.)

Ponymad21
June 15th, 2016, 09:38 AM
No where near anaphylactic, I'll patch test it

Ponymad21
June 15th, 2016, 09:38 AM
Thank you for the help

Stepo_NiNha
June 15th, 2016, 09:40 AM
Is it a big allergy? Something like your hands can't even touch it?

If so, then you should consider if it's really worth it or not. You mentioned that it's just a slight allergy but the same person can react differently to allergies along his/her life even with the same product. Do you have any specific allergy episode in the past?

If it's not a big allergy and you're really sure about it, I think it should be ok IF the product is applied on the lengths and ends. Avoid the scalp.

Agnieszka
June 15th, 2016, 09:42 AM
My son has anaphylaxis to many foods. Nuts are on a list too. My advice would be to patch test it on your forearm. Just leave it there for a minute and see what happens. My son is ok with oils as long as it's pure from protein. For example he will have anaphylactic shock if he eats a small piece of cod but absolutely fine with taking fish cod oil capsules.

spirals
June 15th, 2016, 10:09 AM