PDA

View Full Version : Undercut - experience and advice

karenpetal
June 10th, 2016, 12:23 AM
Hi !! I have been itching to try out a style I have seen some ppl around the area I love carry off. Wanted to know any advice or experience you might have.

I have been growing my hair for 25 months after the big chop to get rid of splits and damages. I am between APL and BSL one length hair and mostly do a ponytails or buns (high).

What has been your experience with undercuts ?
What type of undercut nape vs side vs Mohawk ?
Tips for hair care and maintenance welcome and any cautions welcomed

Angela_Rose
June 10th, 2016, 12:30 AM
I've never had one myself, but one of my best friends in high school maintained an undercut for years. The thing she complained about the most was always having to find someone to do the cut for her; she wouldn't buzz it down on her own because she was afraid she would mess it up and ruin the line.

They can look pretty slick, if you ask me! She did hers straight across from about earlobe level, but I also knew a girl who did the Mohawk line. Her hair was dyed black and pink, and made a pretty striking pattern when she french braided the longer bits.

lulikrueger
June 10th, 2016, 04:19 AM
I'm currently growing out an undercut, and I had both sides shaved. I'll make a list of pros and cons.
I seem to be in an endless cycle with shaved bits. I'll think my hair looks boring, then I'll shave something and think it looks awesome, then I'll get tired of it and let it grow.

Pros:
- Easy to maintain, depending on the shape you get.
- Adds some life into your hairstyle even when you don't wanna do anything to it, just throw it to the side(if you get the side/s shaved) or put it into a ponytail(if you get an undercut).
- You can dye it crazy colours without fear of damage.
- You can get it shaved into interesting shapes, such as triangle, oval, heart etc. You can also get patterns shaved into it.]
- It's really easy to hide if you have long hair.