PDA

View Full Version : Argan oil/ coconut oil

Iamsiam
June 3rd, 2016, 07:02 AM
Hey guys, Newbie here 😀
So, my eventual hair goal is terminal! At the moment, I'm nearing on tailbone. (With micro trims)
have been using both Arian oil and coconut oil in my hair recently, and it feels amazing! However, my hair does tend to get sick of things easy. I'm just wondering if anyone has had negative experiences after coconut oil? Is this only something I should be doing short term?

spidermom
June 3rd, 2016, 07:05 AM
I've used coconut oil on my hair regularly for more than a decade, usually the night before or several hours before washing. It hasn't let me down yet.

Just this week I've decided to experiment with applying a very small amount of coconut oil to the bottom couple of inches of hair when it's freshly washed and still damp. In the past, my ends have gotten pretty trashed around tailbone length, and I'm trying to prevent that happening again.

Iamsiam
June 3rd, 2016, 07:08 AM
Well, if you're still going strong after ten years I'd say I don't have much to worry about! Haha. I'll keep at it!

lapushka
June 3rd, 2016, 07:33 AM
Coconut oil leaves my hair crunchy. I can't use it, not even in small amounts. Some people just have that with coconut oil, it is known for doing that to some. Olive oil is much more "neutral" in that sense.

It all depends on how and when you use the oil (pre-poo, rinse-out oil, as a "serum" on damp ends).

I use mineral oil (baby oil from J&J) for the rinse-out oil method (just 10 drops).

Stepo_NiNha
June 3rd, 2016, 08:04 AM
I had.

In the beginning, coconut oil gave me a very subtile effect on my hair leaving it smoother. Some months later after having done so many weekly treatments with coconut oil and some other oils, my hair started feeling crunchy.

Now it doesn't like any type of oil (only some 2 or 3 drops of almond oil and that's about it). But that's what happened with me, might be different with you.