PDA

View Full Version : low carb diets & hair?

SophieGrowGrow
October 16th, 2008, 11:29 PM
since low carb diets are veg ( low carb ), protein and fats I would assume it would make your hair grow faster and remain as healthy if your taking vitamins to suplement what you are not getting?

does anyone know the affect low carb diets have on hair & hair growth?

Exodus
October 17th, 2008, 01:38 AM
since low carb diets are veg ( low carb ), protein and fats I would assume it would make your hair grow faster and remain as healthy if your taking vitamins to suplement what you are not getting?

does anyone know the affect low carb diets have on hair & hair growth?

Well, I've been eating low-carb for three or four years and what I have noticed is that neither my scalp or hair are as dry as they were before that. As for growth, nothing in the world makes my hair grow faster. But a friend, who started low-carb (it was a total change from her old habits), has definitely faster growth now and thicker shinier hair.

SophieGrowGrow
October 17th, 2008, 01:41 AM
Well, I've been eating low-carb for three or four years and what I have noticed is that neither my scalp or hair are as dry as they were before that. As for growth, nothing in the world makes my hair grow faster. But a friend, who started low-carb (it was a total change from her old habits), has definitely faster growth now and thicker shinier hair.

huh, I thought getting alot of protein would.. ok maybe not make hair growth faster but maximize the pace of it?

Curlsgirl
October 17th, 2008, 05:57 AM
I was on Atkins maintenance for about 5 years and I didn't notice any difference but I abused it for much of that time. My hair is actually healthier but that started when I came here and learned how to take care of it. The only difference I have heard people remark about is that like any diet if you lose VERY quickly, increased shedding can occur.

MsBubbles
October 17th, 2008, 06:36 AM