PDA

View Full Version : Growing pains - closer I get to goal, more hair looks like it's in transition stage

school of fish
May 12th, 2016, 05:58 AM
I just need to vent a little ;)

A bit of backstory: I've pretty much reached my goal length of tailbone (I'm there when my hair's wet) and while I'm very pleased about that, my real goal is restoring my hemline thickness after some non-benign neglect incured a lot of damage, breakage and a drastically thinned-out hemline. That damaged state had crept up over a long period of time, and it had gotten pretty bad before I noticed what had happened.

Over the last 2+ years as I've learned my hair and developed a stellar routine the improvement has been astronomical. Monthly microtrimming has been one of the keys to the success - I've been doing it faithfully for almost 2-1/2 years now. My hair health has visibly improved, my hem thickness is steadily moving downward, my ends are becoming more even and blunt (which I like) with each trim.

Here's the thing - when it was tapered out from damage, it may not have looked the way I wanted but it *did* look like intentional layers, I'll give it that ;) But now that the bulk of the thickness has traveled down to about mid-back, by contrast that density is making the ends *look* thinner... and because the hemline is now very visually blunt the taper no longer looks either natural or styled - it just rather looks like damaged ends, haha!

It feels rather ironic to me that my very healthy hair is appearing to the non-LHC eye that I've got a lot of damage going on. It feels strange to me that as I get closer to my end goal I feel like my hair is looking worse, not better. I can see that this effect is only going to increase as I get closer to my hem goal - it's the contrast in thickness between the upper and lower sections that's highlighting the effect.