PDA

View Full Version : Suncare Products

Cass
May 5th, 2016, 03:50 PM
Hello guys :) newbie here.

I've been searching/stalking this forum for a few months now. Love everyone's hair and their haircare, but I've not found a thread related to what suncare products people use. (Sorry if there is one.)

I'm from England and have booked a holiday to Spain mid June. I'll be taking my trusty coconut oil with me, but does anyone have any suggestions on what else to take to protect my hair? I'd say it was between waist and hip length right now and in pretty good condition.

Thankyou for any replies they'll be much appreciated :) x

Wavykate
May 5th, 2016, 04:14 PM
I am also in the uk and going to Spain in June! I'd like to get some tips on this, so far I decided to just oil my hair and keep it in braids most of the time. I'd like to hear some tips on protecting hair from pool chlorine

meteor
May 5th, 2016, 04:49 PM
Definitely a sun hat / scarf / buff and keeping hair up helps. :) You want to reduce surface area by compact bunning and cover hair (ideally, with UPF-rated materials) to reduce photo damage.

As for leave-ins for sun protection, yes, there are many, but for me personally, the jury is still out on their effectiveness, partly because they would require some serious coverage all over canopy hair to be fully effective, making the hair less presentable when worn down, and partly because they were originally designed to protect hair dye from fast fading... I don't know if they manage to fully protect natural pigment and especially hair's protein, too.
Here is a quick compilation of some studies on sun damage and UV filters for hair (at the bottom): http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=136845&p=3187913&viewfull=1#post3187913