PDA

View Full Version : Newbie...lurker...coming out of hiding with a ? on hair dye removal

genlilliana
March 29th, 2016, 08:38 AM
Hi there! I've been lurking around for a long time...mainly because you all have answered and assisted me through your various forums and questions so I haven't really needed to ask anything. I've learned a TON about how to care for my long hair, in ways I never imagined. So, first off - THANK YOU ALL! You have made my long hair care routine easier and much more beneficial. I've never had better, healthier hair.

But...

I've been getting white hairs on my head since age 13 - white - not gray. I'm now 41 and I've been dying my hair for 20 years or so. It's time to stop. But, I'd like to tone down the line of demarcation a bit. Not a ton - just a bit...I heard about a dye removal product that may help initially so I can then just leave the rest to grow out.

Have any of you had any experiences with this product? I'm a 2B, low porosity, medium width hair - my hair is long enough to reach the middle of my back now and is generally healthy.

I am okay with having a line of demarcation (it's unavoidable) but I'm hoping the dye remover would just tone it down a bit.

Thoughts? And thank you in advance.

lapushka
March 29th, 2016, 08:45 AM
Welcome. :)

What color is your hair?

genlilliana
March 29th, 2016, 08:49 AM
My hair color is a medium auburn, the closest to my hair color that I could get...

Anje
March 29th, 2016, 11:13 AM
It's certainly worth a try. Those dye removers (Color Oops, Colour B4, things like that) are supposed to work pretty well on permanent dyes. If they're totally successful, the hair underneath the dye is typically lighter than your virgin hair, because the peroxide in the developer lightens it to some extent. As I understand it, the real key with the color removers is to rinse and rinse and rinse some more.