PDA

View Full Version : Question about highlights

LoveToLearn
March 19th, 2016, 10:46 AM
Hi all,

So I've always gotten my hair colored to cover the grey, & then highlights (usually red) done afterward in the same visit. The last time this new hairdresser also put light brown highlights along with the red & it looked great.

The other day I went to a new hairdresser who told me you can't put red highlights on top of dark brown, it won't show up b/c only bleaching will show up. I'm like... what? This is how it's ALWAYS been done, no matter what other hairdresser I've gone to.

He said we can try & see if it works, but it's never been done & I've been doing hair for 30 years.

I didn't go through with the appointment, but I wanted to ask if anyone knows what he's talking about.

Thanks

meteor
March 19th, 2016, 01:28 PM
I'm not too sure I understand exactly what was done in your case, but yes, one can get highlights done in different colors (2 or 3 or more similar colors can create a multi-dimensional, more complex and more natural effect (if you are working with natural-looking colors, of course) - but it totally depends on your base and what you are trying to achieve). The important thing is to have that planned out before the bleaching and toning is done - because it's at the moment of selecting that strands that one should already start planning which strands will be darker, which will be lighter (maybe requiring higher vol.) or a bit later, when the colorist can use different toners on different strands to achieve different shades on them, with strategic placement of highlights.
Doing this work later is a bit harder (and usually more expensive) and usually requires double-processing (more damage to hair), unless you select completely new strands for a 2nd color -> but then the whole look will change further.