PDA

View Full Version : Sulfate free products for 7 months

M.McDonough
March 18th, 2016, 05:39 AM
Hi

So I've been using sulfate-free products for several months, but I feel like a sulfate free shampoo doesn't really cleanse my scalp...my scalp kinda feels greasy. I honestly only wash my hair once a week. It's a bit nippy where I live and I'm a bit lazy. I went 7 months without using products containing sulfate, it's a long time and I don't wanna wreck it.

This is the set I'm using currently
The shampoo doesn't lather well..sometimes I have to use a lot of it :/

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/04/8a/12/048a124de4159444d9b3a36ea085028b.jpg

Has anyone experienced the same thing?!? What do you think I should do?

bunneh.
March 18th, 2016, 06:29 AM
I used sulfate-free shampoo before and didn't like it. I had to use a lot of it, it didn't lather, it didn't clean my hair well enough. Then I tried sectioning my hair, which was better but my hair still didn't feel 100% clean. I then tried diluting sulfate-free shampoo with water and it worked amazingly well. It cleans the hair really really well, my scalp doesn't feel greasy at all and I don't use as much product as I used to. I mix a good teaspoon of product with about 100 ml of water and 5 drops of tea tree oil and then use this mixture in thirds, so I rub the product in my hair and rinse it 3 times. I've done this process about 3 times (in 3 weeks) so far and I like it.

lapushka
March 18th, 2016, 07:23 AM
If you can't do without sulfates, why go sulfate-free? If your hair responds better to sulfates, I'd just use them and give up the sulfate-free route.

Nadine <3
March 18th, 2016, 07:40 AM
There's nothing wrong with using sulfates if sulfate free isn't working for you. I mean who wants to feel greasy right out of the shower? That would drive me nuts.

khryz
March 18th, 2016, 07:42 AM
How about using a sulfate shampoo occasionally when it feels like you're scalp needs a good clean?