PDA

View Full Version : Med. chop? Reevaluating hair goals

Doreen
March 17th, 2016, 08:55 AM
For some background info, currently I am an inch or so beyond knee. Longest I have ever been is 3" past knee.

Recently in the past couple of weeks I have seriously been considering chopping back to Classic or even TBL for a couple of reasons. I have noticed a big increase in damage near the ends of my hair and I think this is because I like to tie the ends of my braids into knots to make them a bit shorter and more manageable, not getting caught in things etc. (I am a full time student and wear a backpack for most of the day.) The ends are thinner and full of white dots. I also really miss being able to wear my hair down. I have gained a lot of weight recently due to some medical issues and feel that wearing it up all the time is not as flattering in light of that.

At the same time, the thought of cutting that much off (10"!!!) makes me so sad because in spite of the damage, I have taken so much care to get my hair this long and it is still healthy overall. There is about 4" of damage which I could just trim off, but I think I would still feel the urge to tie the ends up just to keep them out of the way, therefore inflicting more damage, etc. My goal used to be terminal, then changed to floor/ankle, and now I am not so sure. Knee is manageable but I don't enjoy managing it the way I used to back when I was trying to get from TBL to classic (when I first joined). Maybe chopping would give me some excitement back? Another thing is that I am not so much into trimming and maintaining because I am so busy with classes, so if I chopped I might still end up back at knee in a couple of years from sheer laziness...