PDA

View Full Version : Clarifying shampoo questions

Persiangirl01
March 6th, 2016, 05:09 AM
Hi there. I'm a newbie to LHC. I've seen a lot of suggestions online about using a clarifying shampoo. I have a few questions:

What are some good Clarifying shampoos available? I only know of the Tresseme one. Is that any good?

How often should I do a clarifying shampoo if I don't use any product in my hair? I have type 2a/b virgin hair and only shampoo and condition 2 times a week, with sulphate-free, Vegan shampoo and conditioner. I never blow dry my hair either.

Does clarifying shampoos fight dandruff causing bacteria? I am extremely prone to dandruff in Winter. :(

Thank you! :)

meteor
March 6th, 2016, 11:47 AM
I liked Neutrogena Anti-Residue, for example, but there are lots and lots of good clarifying shampoos out there. If you can find one that's both clarifying and chelating, e.g. Joico Clarify, Kenra Clarifying, Pantene Damage Detox, etc... it's probably even better, because then you can remove both product build-up and mineral build-up from water.

The frequency of use is determined by your own preference, of course. I use them on ad hoc basis. It helps if you know your hair's standard baseline for feel and behaviour and can identify build-up early on: e.g. grabby, dry, snap-prone, lank, dull, coated, plastic-y, hard to style, etc... - then it's often sign of build-up and time to clarify. :)