PDA

View Full Version : Picked up an awful habit. Tips to break it?

Complexity
February 25th, 2016, 02:30 PM
I spend a lot of time sitting at my desk, and over the last year or so I picked up an awful habit (likely stress related):

Hair chewing.

A lot of the time I don't even realize that I'm doing it (though I'm trying to be more conscious of it). I know it's going to end up ruining any of the 'good' I'm doing with my hair (that I neglected for too many years) and so I'm looking for solutions.

There's the obvious 'wear it up' answer, but I'm not very good at braiding (and worry that I might be doing more harm than good with it) and although I've pretty much mastered the cinnabun, I only have claw clips to hold it in place (and again, I worry they do more harm than good). Right now, buying anything new isn't an option.

Any help you kind folks could offer is greatly appreciated! :)

I can definitely see myself spending multiple hours here.

lithostoic
February 25th, 2016, 02:40 PM
Put a leave in on your hair. Once you taste it you'll likely be jolted and realize what you've done.

Nique1202
February 25th, 2016, 02:41 PM
Braiding does more good than harm unless you get a lot of tangles taking it out. Similarly, claw clips still protect most of your hair without causing huge amounts of damage to what they touch, especially if you take a nail file and smooth out any sharp edges you can reach with it. Any one style might cause you a few splits or problems if you wear them daily for a few years but you've already got two things you can do right now, plus maybe a peacock twist if your claw clips are big enough and your hair's not too long.