PDA

View Full Version : Updo ideas for Classic/Mid-Thigh hair

farmlass
February 25th, 2016, 01:28 AM
Hi everyone,

Haven't been on here in aaaages, love the new main page :) Anyway, while I've been gone I've passed classic and could *almost* be at mid-thigh. I have a 4 month old little boy so hair is kinda low on my list of priorities. Anyway, I've been putting my hair in a nautilus bun most days for about 2 years, and as a result I think I have a bit of damage from the hair stick and shortish bits that won't stay in an over-the-shoulder braid. I'm also shedding due to the pregnancy. I would love some quick and easy updo ideas that will move the pressure away from my usual nautilus. TIA :o

ashke50
February 25th, 2016, 02:19 AM
My hair is about the same length as yours, and I do Gibraltar buns (stick), cinnabuns (stick, fork or ficcare), figure 8s (fork) and log rolls (ficcare) fairly frequently, and they're very easy and quick.

And for something that's not a bun, you could try a coronet braid (just a simple English plait pinned round the head in a circle). I find that's very comfortable and looks much harder than it is!

farmlass
February 25th, 2016, 02:58 AM
Thanks for the bun ideas ashke50, I used to love doing a crown braid but it's far too long to manage now, and unfortunately my hair spits pins out so the coronet braid doesn't last so long :( Your hair is gorgeous, and looks a lot thicker than mine!

Nique1202
February 25th, 2016, 03:55 AM
Try the coronet braid held with spin pins instead of regular pins. The spin pins can dig deep and grab multiple sections of scalp hair, so I find them much more secure than bobby pins, and they'll stay where you put them for days. I use them all the time for heidi braids, since my hair's not long enough yet for the coronet.

lapushka
February 25th, 2016, 05:28 AM