PDA

View Full Version : Need advice! Growing out BSL to WL :)

Anya15
February 19th, 2016, 08:00 PM
Hello! :) I'm new to the LHC. I recently decided to grow out my BSL hair to waist length. I have no idea how to take care of my hair.

I used to have long hair once upon a time (TBL) but it was full of split ends so...I don't think I was taking care of it properly.

My hair is currently 2b/2c. I experienced a lot of changes in hair type-My hair went from 2a/2b(which I had all my life) to 1c and now it's 2b/2c. The longest layer is BSL and the shortest is APL. My current routine is - coconut oil the night before I shampoo, and then I shampoo using a sulfate free herbal shampoo. I air dry, never use heat (unless I'm getting a haircut, where the stylist blow dries my hair. This is once or twice a year.) After my hair is dry I apply a bit of coconut oil to the ends, and do this every alternate day (every day if the weather is dry). I never use conditioner. I used to shed a lot but now it's under control.

Any tips/tricks as to how I should take care of my hair so that it grows fast? Also, best way to wear my 2b/2c wavy hair? I have this very bad habit of wearing it in a ponytail (braids are just awkward because my layers stick out.)

pailin
February 19th, 2016, 08:11 PM
First, why don't you use conditioner? Is there a specific reason?
Second, since you don't want to braid, can you do buns? They are actually better because they will protect your ends and get your hair out of the way of things like chair backs and bag straps. Check your hairties by the way; if you're going to use ponytails, some hairties are wose than others. For braids, mine shred too; I usually redo them several times during the day.
Third, how are you detangling your hair? This is important because this can make a big difference.
Also are you using heat tools, dyeing, or chemically straightening?

pailin
February 19th, 2016, 08:12 PM
Also, welcome to the forum and hope you find lots of help.

Anya15