PDA

View Full Version : sulfate-free newbie

emmadilemma
February 10th, 2016, 05:21 PM
Hello there! I have several questions and I'm looking for all of your opinions and advice you have to offer, I'm a total newbie and for the last few months I've been
winging it when it comes to moving away from sulfates, silicones, parabens, etc. My hair is anywhere from a 2b/c/ii/iii to a 3a/3b/f/m/iii depending on the products i've used and how I've treated my hair over a period of the last couple weeks. I decided to change my hair care when I got sick and tired of the frizz that halos my hair and that happens when I part my hair down the middle and it sits on the sides of my neck, just so frizzy and undefined. I started out by cutting off my dead ends and doing a 'dusting' of my hair, then I ordered some solid bar shampoo and conditioner from etsy. All of the ingredients in the shampoo were organic oils and good things for your hair, but it also had lye in it. It didnt bother me because lye is in each and every soap, otherwise its not soap. I used for the entire month of January and loved it but recently I've been kind of freaking out because the corner of my forehead where I get lots of baby hairs almost looked like a bald spot. The other side with baby hair didnt look thinned out and I'm finding it hard to remember if that corner always looked that thin. But now I'm scared of hair loss. So I'm going to use it for the rest of february and take a look at the before pictures I just took today and see if it really is thinning out. I'm only 20 so hair loss is really scaring me. I have a plan for if it is thinning out my hair, I'm going to give the no-poo method a shot, except with bentonite clay, apple cider vinegar, raw honey and filtered water and see if that does me any good. Anyway, sorry for the long and boring backstory, but I would love any advice and any opinions anyone would like to tell me! Oh also hello, my name is Emma. :)

Robi-Bird
February 10th, 2016, 07:20 PM