PDA

View Full Version : Oily Hair SOS; My Plea For Help

Eshye
January 31st, 2016, 10:40 PM
Hi, hello! I am new to LHC and I joined because I am near my breaking point. I've had long hair for a long time and I love it, but I feel like I'm not doing it justice.

I have tried a lot of shampoo/conditioner combinations, but I seem to always get the same results:

If I use any shampoo other than Head & Shoulders Dry Scalp Care With Almond Oil Dandruff Shampoo, it feels like my hair is too clean, almost squeaky clean? Which feels... wrong.
Then, no matter what I use for shampoo, my hair gets oily within at least 12 hours... but my scalp tends to be normal to dry. I actually first started using the Head & Shoulders because my scalp was so dry last winter that it was always flaking and itchy.
Which means I have to shampoo my hair at least every other day, which isn't a problem as long as I stay home on that second day. I've tried aerosol dry shampoos and corn starch, and the latter works in a pinch, but they almost make my hair worse.

I've tried a lot of shampoos for oily hair, but I find my hair still gets oily, which makes me think I may be overproducing oil? So I'm wondering if someone wouldn't mind holding my hand and helping me figure out what type of washing I should maybe try. (And what sort of products to look for, and how to go about actually doing it... lol.)

I only use conditioner ear-down, and I have a variety of brushes I use: The Wet Brush (http://www.thewetbrush.com/), BASS Bamboo Brush (http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B003XW1EZM), and some cheap wooden combs I found on Amazon.

trolleypup
January 31st, 2016, 11:16 PM
Lessee...I would try diluting your shampoo (maybe a lot) so it won't strip your scalp quite as much and you scalp may slow down the over production. The other thing that may help with the scalp is a dilute vinegar rinse...if it pH balance is better, there may be less general scalp anger.