PDA

View Full Version : Should I trim?

Avenie
January 6th, 2016, 03:11 AM
I've been growing out a pixie since mid-2013, and using all the LHC tips I feel like it's going really well. It's shoulder-length, getting close to APL, and with some trims near the beginning I was able to lose most of the layers and now I think there's only one still lingering in there somewhere. Stretching out washes, no heat, no ponytails, no elastic ties. For most of the growing process I used a claw clip, plastic with a softened texture so it didn't snag, and combed it gently. Now it's too heavy for the clip, so I hid it under hats in the winter and, at home, held it with wide bands or bandannas. I can now do some basic braids as well.

ANYWAY, obviously I don't have superpowers and, as I'm trying out an anti-breakage shampoo rather than a silicone-smoother, I can see the fuzz of shorter hairs poking out of the main length. I don't have split ends. The ends of those shorties aren't split, although some have a kink in them (my hair is poker-straight) and the actual ends of my hair are not split either. Or maybe they are kinking because they're simply new-grown hairs and aren't long and weighed-down yet?

I am wondering if I should just leave the mid-length fuzz because they're new hairs still growing and they're not split, so they're fine, or if I should trim off any kinked ends because they're broken and could split in the future. I don't want to be trimming for no reason, and I also don't want to have to trim too much later down the line because I have broken ones turning into splits. I've looked up end-trimming and dusting (with the twists) but my hair isn't particularly thick and I don't want to be trimming off baby hairs by mistake.

furnival
January 6th, 2016, 03:57 AM