PDA

View Full Version : Are all updos protective? Are some more protective than others?

ElvenEngineer
January 3rd, 2016, 11:25 PM
I'm pretty new to updos, but have heard the phrase "protective updos" many times, hence my question. As I'm learning a few to get started, I'm wondering where I should put my focus. :)

Nique1202
January 4th, 2016, 03:42 AM
Wearing your hair loose it comes into contact with all sorts of things (clothing, coats, bags and straps, chairs, and if it's long enough it starts to get hooked on doorknobs, stuck in car doors, etc.) so the idea of a protective updo is to keep the hair contained and away and protected from all that friction and all that mechanical damage, so that you don't get so much damage that it starts breaking off before you reach your goal.

But, it can take many years for that damage to show up, depending on how much it gets and from what sources. A lot of people find that their hair seems to stop growing around midback because of chairs, or around tailbone-to-classic because of sitting on it, but if you're careful about pulling loose hair out of danger then for some people that's enough. Some people don't need protective styles at all to reach their goals and be happy with the look of their hemline. If you're at 27.5 inches and you know you only want 30 and you're happy with how your ends look now, you can probably do whatever you're already doing and just learn the updos that you like the look of.

If you plan to grow longer, then basically buns (especially with just a stick or fork or spin pins to fasten, since elastics and bobby pins cause more friction and mechanical damage) are generally more protective than braids, and braids are generally more protective than loose hair. There are exceptions, like some people whose hair tangles more in braids than when it's loose so the detangling causes them more damage over time, but that's the general wisdom about such things.

gossamer
January 4th, 2016, 04:47 AM