PDA

View Full Version : Oils, hot or cold?

lapushka
December 14th, 2015, 07:15 AM
Do you sometimes do (cold/hot) oil treatments? As a pre-poo (DT) or as a DC treatment?

I only use oil sparsely after a wash on damp hair, or with the ROOM (rinse-out oil method).

But what do *you* prefer, and do?

Mirabele
December 14th, 2015, 07:37 AM
i do oil treatments as a pre-wash overnight oilings, sometimes hot sometimes cold. I am quite new to this, but these oilings made a huge change on how my hair looks and feels now. 3-4 months with oiling and my breakage stopped and my hair grows faster and there is a lot of new growth.
i also use some oil (very very little drop) as a leave-in on my length, once or twice every day.

sarahthegemini
December 14th, 2015, 07:38 AM
I don't use oils regularly on my hair any more but I will occasionally put on a bit of coconut oil a few hours before a wash. In this case, I put it on dry hair at room temperature.

TR
December 14th, 2015, 07:39 AM
I'm brand-new to any successful oil treatment, and it's still too soon to call it a success but...

I do cold castor oil treatment, massaged into the scalp and left overnight before a wash. At my short length the oil gets all the way to the ends. I use salicylic acid shampoo with sulfates to wash and I can't use conditioner (makes my SD crazy). So far this routine results in a super clean calm scalp, and my hair is softer yet still seems to have body. Hard to tell for sure with a pixie, but it's definitely not plastered to my head. I hope this keeps working for me; I'm interested to see how it all goes when my hair gets longer.

lapushka
December 14th, 2015, 07:46 AM
I'm brand-new to any successful oil treatment, and it's still too soon to call it a success but...