PDA

View Full Version : Are braids damaging?

RebekahE
December 9th, 2015, 07:12 PM
I thought there was a thread with this question but can't find it. If someone can link me to it, I will say no more.
For my WHOLE life I have worn my hair in braid(s). When I was younger my Mom did two french braids and sometimes one french. For the last few years it has mostly been just a straight, plain, english braid down my back. And most recently it has been either a dutch braid or french braid.
I've always had short strands. I call them wispies. It's just been a way of life for me. I am a highly active outdoorsy type person. I make my living training horses. I also train dogs and compete with both them and horses. I raise rabbits. I spend most of my time outside. And buns just haven't ever held very well with my fine, thick, straight, slippery hair. The ones I could get to actually sorta hold gave me a headache.
I have recently become interested in growing my hair back out again and seeing how long I can go. Currently it is waist length, but I have gone to classic before. My question is: Are braids more damaging than say, buns? I always use a soft goodie "ouchless" hair tie and I try not to put it in the same place all the time.

Entangled
December 9th, 2015, 08:18 PM
Yes, because there are two aspects to a protective hairstyle. One is preventing tangles, so there isn't too much damage in detangling. Braids protect against this, as do buns. The second aspect is preventing friction. Braids do not really do this as much; the hair is still swinging around, hitting things and rubbing on things. Buns keep hair out of contact with most objects, and so protect the ends more.