PDA

View Full Version : "midlife crisis" leads to long hair

gregh
December 5th, 2015, 12:43 PM
I have wanted to grow long hair since I was in high school, but never really made an attempt. When I turned 40, as I am fortunate enough to still have all of my hair, I told my wife I was going to grow it out. I am glad she was ok with it or I probably would have caved; her only condition was that I grow a beard as well. And subsequently I have been growing for a little under 2 years. I am glad to say I left the awkward stage behind not all that long ago, and have become a cliched "ponytail guy" for better or worse. Hopefully it should be smooth sailing from here!
I have found some great haircare advice and inspiration on this site and thought I would register since I have seen some other guys on here and figured I was welcome regardless. So you can add a nearly 42 year old guy to your number.

gthlvrmx
December 5th, 2015, 12:58 PM
Welcome! Maybe you can look through some new buns and braids for yourself to add variety other than having just a ponytail. :) If your hair is short, you might only be able to do mainly braids and mainly peacock twists and french twists, or maybe a cinnamon bun.

MeAndTheMaz
December 5th, 2015, 01:07 PM
Welcome to the fold, brother. Yes, us men folk are tolerated here just fine.

Like gthlvrmx says, you'll be able to find many more ways to do your hair than ponytailing.

Post some pics, so we can see what you're sporting (you will have to go through a picture hosting site and link to it until you have the requisite number of posts).

EdG
December 5th, 2015, 01:09 PM
I used to joke that on reaching the midlife crisis, anyone can buy a sports car or go sky diving. Those are much too mundane.

Only a few grow long hair. Welcome! :)
Ed

Amapola
December 5th, 2015, 01:13 PM
Welcome! So happy to see you here!