PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on a haircut

ebaviisakas
October 31st, 2015, 07:27 AM
Hi!
I have been growing out my hair dye for a few years now and I am getting fed up with my dyed ends. My hair lenght overall is down to my waist almost, my natural hair is about to my shoulders on the top layer, but the lower level is several inches longer. I have been trimming it myself with a straight cut for all this time and I feel like I am ready to get it cut. My hair is straight and quite thin.
I would like to have my natural hair grow long, what kind of haircut would be best for this? Are there any hairstyles where I could keep some of my lower levels longer (does this make sense?) without it looking very bad and thin?
What are your favorite medium length hair cuts?
And most importantly, how do I communicate with my hairdresses as to what I want exactly. I am quite unassertive and shy and I have bad experience with hairdressers. I would do it myself, but I do not have the skills or the balls to do such a big chop myself!

Thank you :)

lapushka
October 31st, 2015, 08:06 AM
If I were you, I'd just keep trimming myself.

There's 2 options, a blunt cut or layers.

Blunt: Feye's self-trimming method: http://feyeselftrim.livejournal.com/
Layers: Compact cut method (ponytail on top of head (longer layers); ponytail on top of forehead (short layering)).

I would most definitely *not* go to a hairdresser. You might end up with shoulder length hair. If you say to them "trim the dead ends off", they will get rid of all the dye most likely!

ebaviisakas
October 31st, 2015, 08:53 AM
I did not know about the compact cut! After researching a bit I think I might just do that. Thank you so much.

lapushka
October 31st, 2015, 09:23 AM
I did not know about the compact cut! After researching a bit I think I might just do that. Thank you so much.