PDA

View Full Version : Hair At the Beach

Bunnehlvr22
October 9th, 2015, 03:23 PM
I'm going to the beach in a couple of weeks (yes, in October). It's my first time getting in the ocean and my hair is almost BSL. How bad is getting in the water for my hair? Should I wear a swimming cap? (Even if I look really weird?) Is there any tips for taking care of my hair after I get out of the water?

Nique1202
October 9th, 2015, 04:13 PM
If you can, give your hair a rinse in non-salty water just before going into the water, or use a good leave-in conditioner after you wash your hair (it doesn't have to be wet on your hair when you go into the water). Definitely give it a rinse after getting out of the water, as soon as it's reasonably possible (it doesn't have to be IMMEDIATELY afterward).

Basically, the salt might dry your hair out a bit, especially if you go a long while before you rinse it, but it shouldn't affect your hair the same way that chlorine in a pool does. I don't think you'd need to wear a swim cap.

meteor
October 9th, 2015, 05:07 PM
^ I agree with Nique completely. :agree:

A few ideas for the beach:

- Wear hair in a protective bun (braided buns are great at containing hair tightly) and a wide-brimmed hat or a UV buff to protect hair from UV rays and wind.

- If you swim a lot and frequently, ideally, you might want to get a special long-hair swimcap, like this, for example: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=czj4DOl6UO4
and/or try a two-cap combination: http://newlynatural.com/blog/2010/03/winning-combination/

- Coconut oil soak pre-pool to reduce uptake of water with minerals, and soak hair in fresh water and conditioner before swimming.

- Keep hair tightly contained when swimming to prevent excessive tangling: e.g. braid and then bun hair in a simple updo and then put on a swim-cap (if you wear one).