PDA

View Full Version : Trying to stretch washes but running into awkward problem. No answers when searched.

Fantak
October 3rd, 2015, 01:01 AM
Hello there,

I have been washing my hair every other day for a few years now and have been happy with it.

My problem is that on washday (second day?) I start to get little white flecks in my hair which are more obvious around my hair line on my parting. This means I have to wash my hair first thing in the morning if I don't want speckled hair!

The problem has recently gotten worse, I believe this is due to hormonal shifts as all my skin is drier, and I think the flecks are dry skin.

I have tried a brown sugar+oil scalp scrub and switching to a hydrating shampoo (I was already using a very mild gentle shampoo that could be used on babies!). I have also tried a clarifying shampoo. The results have always been exactly the same, flakes on the second day.

I would really like to stretch washing one more day, but can't see that happening, so I would at least like to be able to spend an extra 20 minutes in bed instead of having to rush into the shower to wash the bits out!

Does anyone have any tips or suggestions?

Thank you!

F

Kaorin
October 3rd, 2015, 01:12 AM
I also try to stretch washes and am getting some white flakes. But I get mine more randomly, not because of the wash stretch itself (have had dry spots as long as I can remember). I put aloe vera gel on my dry spots and I must say it has improved alot. I still get a little flaky sometimes, but not often at all anymore. I use it about once or twice a week only, so not every wash (been sloppy the last couple of weeks, but still no flakes though).

ravenreed
October 3rd, 2015, 01:34 AM