PDA

View Full Version : Biting the bullet....

PossibleMermaid
September 15th, 2015, 10:53 AM
So I've been growing out a pixie for about two years now. I'm just about at collarbone length, and I've been thinking I need a trim. The bottom of my hair is just dry and crinkly and sad, it gets tangled and gross constantly. It's taken me so long to get here though, I don't want to lose two inches of length!! That's nearly four months of growth for me! I know it's probably what's best but if anyone knows an alternative, please let me know. I just went back to CO washing to see if that helps, I try to deep condition with coconut oil at the very least every other week. Can it be saved or do I need to bite the bullet and cut it??

Anje
September 15th, 2015, 10:59 AM
I'd start with the standard "clarify and deep condition" before you start cutting, if you don't want to cut off length. For me, crinkly stiff ends are often a sign of dry or over-proteined hair, and cutting doesn't fix those things. But clarifying by sudsing all the way to the tips of the hair and then SMTing with a protein-free conditioner does wonders. It may or may not be the magic bullet in your case, but it seems worth trying.

PossibleMermaid
September 15th, 2015, 11:09 AM
Thanks so much!

holothuroidea
September 15th, 2015, 11:23 AM
I don't think your hair is long enough for damaged ends to be the cause of your problems unless you've had a lot of chemical treatments and heat styling.

I agree with Anje. Try clarifying and conditioning first, and avoid using products with protein.

Seventy7
September 15th, 2015, 01:49 PM
Seconding this. I've had dry and helpless ends when I started growing out around CL. They basically felt like hay and behaved like velcro.
Now I'm APL with healthy ends and I haven't had a mayor trim. I have done a few microtrims or dustings, with months in between. This has made my ends feel slightly better, but most change was due to routine (basically clarifying and conditioning well).