PDA

View Full Version : Homemade heat protectant spray?

queenbee1
September 15th, 2015, 06:55 AM
Newbie here! Did anybody know how to make homemade all natural heat protectant spray? Thanks in advance x 😀

Finallymajor
September 15th, 2015, 07:13 AM
not a spray but can a teeny bit of a natural oil (coconut, grapeseed, etc) do the trick?

restless
September 15th, 2015, 07:28 AM
not a spray but can a teeny bit of a natural oil (coconut, grapeseed, etc) do the trick?

Wont that literally fry the hair? :confused:

YellowLedbetter
September 15th, 2015, 08:49 AM
From what I've read shea butter can provide heat and uv protection. http://www.curlynikki.com/2011/11/shea-butter-benefits-for-hair.html

LongCurlyTress
September 15th, 2015, 10:25 AM
Wont that literally fry the hair? :confused:
Absolutely YES!!! Ummmm--- Question: What does a steak do (hair is mostly made up of protein) with heat and oil (the fat in the steak) in a frypan?? HMMM???:whistle:

Answer: It gets fried/burnt/charred!

But, go ahead and give it a go if you don't believe me... lol...:soapbox:

No heat especially with ANY oils or as little as possible heat on your poor strands... pretty please?? :blossom:

holothuroidea
September 15th, 2015, 10:30 AM
Absolutely YES!!! Ummmm--- Question: What does a steak do (hair is mostly made up of protein) with heat and oil (the fat in the steak) in a frypan?? HMMM???:whistle:

Answer: It gets fried/burnt/charred!

The oil actually protects the steak. Think about how the steak would turn out if you didn't use oil.

However, the amount of oil you'd need to put on your hair to get even a small amount of protection from the heat would ruin any kind of style you wanted to achieve by using heat in the first place.

I think the best protection you can offer your hair against heat is to use it as gently and infrequently as possible.

LongCurlyTress
September 15th, 2015, 10:34 AM