PDA

View Full Version : Curly Hair / Menopause

Catarina
August 21st, 2015, 04:21 AM
Hi Everyone.

It's been awhile since I posted. I first joined the longhaircommunity when I was 40 years old. I'm now 50 years old, and my hair has changed. It's now curly/wavy since the change, when it used to be straight, especially at the bang area. It's also very frizzy since I have debilitating sweats. I'm not sure how to deal with it since I find it frustrating and trying to straighten it all the time. Will conditioning only make it more relaxed? Has anyone else ever dealt with this problem? I really miss my straight hair.

lapushka
August 21st, 2015, 05:33 AM
Have you ever heard of the curly girl method? This method goes for wavies as well. This is the online page on it:
http://www.wikihow.com/Follow-the-Curly-Girl-Method-for-Curly-Hair

Best is to treat your hair differently now, according to its texture. Good luck!

diddiedaisy
August 21st, 2015, 06:12 AM
Hi, I'm new to wavy hair too. It is difficult to get used to, no more just brushing hair to make it look nice. The comb is now your worst enemy. What I've learnt over this past year is keep it simple. After washing, I apply a serum (a must to stop the frizz) and just let it dry on its own. The more you touch it the more it's liable to frizz. If I'm going to wear it down I'll put some boots curl cream on over the serum. This is really good to help define your waves. I have found it's more prone to dryness too, so keep it well moisturised.

hennalonghair
August 21st, 2015, 06:54 AM
I'm a curly / wavy and can't live without my brush. I've gone through the change and its a big one.
What helped me BIGTIME is wild yam & evening primrose. These are two natural substances that help bakance out hormones in women. They will reduce your night sweats and really help with the transition.