PDA

View Full Version : Terminal?

KittyCatCarrie
August 19th, 2015, 08:27 PM
I've been growing my hair for about 9 years now and my hair is at 44 in. I'm wondering if this is my terminal length. When you reach terminal length does your hair just grow no further?

gthlvrmx
August 20th, 2015, 12:07 AM
For terminal length, give it 10 or more years to know if you truly reached terminal. Sometimes hair gets a stall for years and then it starts growing again. After a certain time, the individual hair will shed out and a new hair will take its place and grow to terminal if you let it.

Panth
August 20th, 2015, 05:40 AM
How have you been treating it?

Even a little thing (like wearing it loose/braided vs. wearing it bunned every day) can result in a false terminal.

BroomHilda
August 20th, 2015, 05:58 AM
44 inches are very long! PRovided that you ve been growing out for 9 years, I could assume that this would propably be your terminal... or somewhere there...

Nique1202
August 20th, 2015, 06:07 AM
Yeah, lots of people find a false terminal especially around classic length because of accumulated damage at that point. Especially if your ends have been brushed roughly a lot over the years and gotten caught in bag straps, clothing, doors, or been sat on a lot, it could be breaking off where it is now and stalling your growth. The easiest way to tell is, does your hair taper down to fairytale ends or is it still fairly thick a few inches up from the ends? True terminal length will taper down a lot.

spidermom
August 20th, 2015, 08:57 AM
Not true, terminal can still have thick ends. I had a friend whose hair never grew longer than somewhere between APL and BSL. She mostly wore it braided and didn't do anything particularly damaging to it, rarely trimmed it, yet it never grew longer and didn't have thin ends over the 20 or so years we were in contact.

lapushka
August 20th, 2015, 10:30 AM