PDA

View Full Version : Easy every day updos for BSL hair?!

ThingitHair
August 6th, 2015, 05:13 PM
Hi all! I'm a lurking member, rarely posting, :cool: but I can't find a thread about this? (Or, I have no luck searching anyway, but it might just be me being clueless... :p)

I'm growing my hair out from chin length, and have finally reached BSL! (Thinking my goal is somewhere around waist/hip - quite a bit to go!) But I need some ideas for updos, for one to keep my hair from being damaged from the back of chairs and stuff, being at this "difficult" length, and also because I need to wear it up for work. (I'm a nurse, so it needs to be all up and away, securely, no half ups.) I don't want to wear a ponytail every day, either. So I need some ideas! Right now it's mostly ponytail, French braid or a messy bun of sorts. I find it just a tad too short to stay in a LWB with a stick all day. The times I've tried it all comes undone after a few hours, even if it feels secure when I put it up. (Might be the stick, though, I only have the one - planning on buying more!)

So, any ideas on what to do, oh wise hair gurus? :pray:

Jo Ann
August 6th, 2015, 05:36 PM
Hypnotica has some excellent videos at http://www.youtube.com/user/4ypn0tica/videos ...very easy, very quick buns. I have hair a few of inches longer than yours and I have no problem getting my hair in Hypnotica's styles.

Good luck!

Nique1202
August 6th, 2015, 05:36 PM
If your hair is ii/iii (right around 3.5-4 inches circumference) then you will have trouble with lazy wrap and nautilus until probably closer to tailbone if you plan to go that long unless you have a lot of layers. Thick hair prevents a lot of the common pretty buns (lazy wrap/nautilus, infinity/figure 8, orchid, etc.) unless you do them as a half-up and then wrap and pin the rest of the hair around it which may not look as nice to you.

Things you can almost definitely do with minimal tools:

Disc bun (a one-stick bun, a long time fave of mine)