PDA

View Full Version : T-Shirts Cause Frizz for Drying but Microfiber Doesn't?

Lorzi
July 27th, 2015, 03:34 PM
Hi everyone!

I'm very confused over a recent discovery I made with my hair....
I have fine, medium thickness, BSL length hair and wash with silicone-free conditioner and diluted sulfate shampoo every other day. I use mineral oil as a leave in and blow dry on cool to dry. I've been using this routine for a few months and its the best routine I've ever had and my hair likes it, minus the frizz I've been experiencing constantly!

I usually use a t-shirt to dry my hair (various ones that are 100% cotton), and I've been doing that for years, because I've read that's just the best for your hair. Recently, I found a microfiber hair towel and have been using that, because it soaks up water a lot faster. Not only that though...I've immediately noticed my hair is frizz free and sleeker? All the baby hairs that usually curl up lie straight now and my hair is generally smoother.

I'm wondering how this is possible? I figured t-shirts were the best option as that's all I've read! In fact...I've never read anyone ever hating t-shirts or not having them work out. I'm happy that my hair is behaving but I'm just totally confused as to why microfiber works so much better :confused: hopefully you lovely experts can help me out? Thank you!

lapushka
July 27th, 2015, 03:41 PM
Yes, a t-shirt doesn't work for me either. It's a matter of YMMV. I like a regular turbie (terry cloth) or microfiber turbie towel for my hair. Works like a charm. A shirt doesn't absorb nearly the water I need it to absorb, so that's out for me.

Use whatever works. :thumbsup:

meteor
July 27th, 2015, 04:11 PM
I've never even heard of claims that cotton is better than microfiber for hair? :hmm:

Obviously, I've heard that cotton T-shirts are better than terrycloth towels, so personally I'd choose cotton over terrycloth, since terrycloth can be a bit rough, enough to cause frizz...