PDA

View Full Version : Need special help for my thin hair?!

RileyJane
June 25th, 2015, 09:04 AM
Hey everyone! Long time no post. I'm calling out to any thin and fine hair folks and just anyone in general with some help! I've been growing my hair out delicately for about 4 years now, and since 2012 have been using more delicate measures to take care of my hair (aka the LHC). Anyways, my hair is at waist now, BUT it looks crappy now. There's not a lot of hair that is super long, and I have some very small layers put into my hair recently, so that probably didn't help much. And now my ends are very damaged, split ends galore, and it's very wispy and just AWFUL. I literally want to cry because I've done nothing but take really good care of it with the occasional wearing of the hair down in the past few months. Is there anything I should try or do differently to make my hair healthier? Here's basically what I do on the daily and or weekly:
-wear hair up in protective buns, always rotating the height and style.
- using coconut oil on my length and ends, and gently blending
-combing my hair out every other day
-sleeping in protective bun with silk pillowcase
- using condish on my ends first, then washing with shampoo and rinsing in warming water(washing every 5-8 days)

SO, Is there any special products or oils I should be using, or maybe a new method to use?! I'm completely lost and feel like I'm just going to chop to shoulder length and start again.😔

lapushka
June 25th, 2015, 09:12 AM
I think the layering might have messed up your hair. You could try gently microtrimming until most of the layers are gone again. :flower:

Panth
June 25th, 2015, 09:15 AM
Without knowing your hairtype, more about your routine (e.g. products), etc. it's hard to say. Photos would be helpful too, if you're willing.

That said, if you have fine, damaged hair I very much doubt a no trim challenge (as per your signature) is doing you much good.

elsieivy
June 25th, 2015, 09:19 AM