PDA

View Full Version : Why do we grow our hair long and contemplation on cutting my really long hair...

SaucyWench
June 8th, 2015, 10:28 PM
I grew my hair long as it was long when I was a child, and asked to cut it when we moved to Florida when I was around 6. It remained short until I graduated from high school in 1977.

Then, I just wanted to see if I could do it as an adult. It grew and grew and grew. I used to belly dance and it was perfect hair for that. I loved how it looked and how men loved it, too (I won't deny it is wonderfully flattering to be complimented on it!).

Dh was first attracted by my hair. He finds it sexy as anything and I love that he does. It was almost knee-length when we married, 19 years ago (I wore it down, per dh's request, so it was my veil, but not in a Cousin It sort of way).

It blossomed, even more, when I was pregnant and I lost little of it afterwards (I breastfed for years, so that might have helped).

I'm the gal with the long hair (a woman, in Paris, once actually said, "Ooh la la" upon seeing it down when we were honeymooning!) I mean, c'mon, ooh la la!!!). I still like the compliments (I'd be lying if I said I didn't!). My long hair is as much a part of me as my arms or nose. I AM my long hair and my long hair is me (yes, I know it is stupid, but where else could I say such a thing and have others understand that statement completely?).

And, now, I am contemplating cutting my knee-length hair to just below shoulder length. It is thick hair (I can't count how many vacuums it has killed).

Honestly, I am beginning to tire of it.

I would like to sleep with my hair down and not be trapped by it (or, trap my dh!). My neck aches because of it being clipped up while I sleep and my head is not touching the pillow (that big bun is). It is hot to wear it down, in bed.