PDA

View Full Version : Lots of breakage & splits for months -- do I need a trim? :(

ladylovecraft
May 27th, 2015, 08:31 PM
Hello ladies,

I've been growing my hair for about 7-8 years, starting from an (unwilling) pixie. I take what I consider to be decent care of my hair: no heat, only henna, SLS-free shampoo 2-3x per week, sleeping with it braided, only cold water washes, etc. I use a tangle teezer brush once daily. I've had a few small trims over the years, but never anything anyone else could notice. However, over the past year, I've noticed a LOT of breakage & splits in my hair before. I used to S&D, and would occasionally find a small split here or there, but they were few and not too drastic. Recently, however, I have a seemingly endless amount of splits & breakage, some are DEEP and really disturbing looking. :( I S&D for hours and hours, (using a hair-only shear) but they never seem to improve.

I had a roughly 4-6 month period of some neglect -- not sleeping with it braided, getting it tangled, even using a lightening/minor bleaching treatment toward the ends once. I moved as well, and the water here is very high in chlorine content (which my hair seems very very sensitive to). I'm not sure if I'm just not taking quite as good care of it as I did previously, or it's just gone without a trim too long, or that period did too much damage.

Do you think I need to just bite the bullet and go for a bigger trim? I've been hovering around tailbone for a while, and though I've done some minor trims, it doesn't seem to have helped. I'm not sure how much to take off, but a couple inches seems likely if I'm to get past the damage.

Majorane
May 28th, 2015, 01:24 AM