PDA

View Full Version : Best styles for working outdoors

Calypso
May 27th, 2015, 07:34 AM
Hi everyone! I'm off on excavation next week, and it'll be the first time I've excavated with long-ish hair. Last year it was around collar bone length and I just kept it in braids every day, but I think braids might get in my way more this year, as my hair's now mid back length. I'm not very good at buns and I worry that most won't be secure enough, with the exception of disc buns, as those are usually pretty sturdy on me. I thought milkmaid braids might be a good way of keeping my hair out of my face, too, but I'm not very good at keeping those secure either. Obviously I don't want it trailing through the dirt! Has anyone got any other ideas for sturdy styles when working outdoors?

Arctic
May 27th, 2015, 07:41 AM
The hairstyle of this month, I think it's called interlaced braids. Many say it's very sturdy, comfortable and secure.

Anje
May 27th, 2015, 07:44 AM
I tend to wear a brimmed hat when I'm outdoors for a decent length of time, so that influences my hairstyles a lot. For me, that means mostly braids and low infinity buns. If I'm just covering my sunburn-prone head with a bandana, ficcare buns are easy and stay better than anything held with sticks, forks, or pins. :jestor: <-- We're kinda hurting for smileys in hats.

missrandie
May 27th, 2015, 07:47 AM
I always kept Mine in a barette or stick bun.. Mom has been wearing hers in a ficcare twist for everything, including outdoor work.

browneyedsusan
May 27th, 2015, 07:50 AM
The hairstyle of this month, I think it's called interlaced braids. Many say it's very sturdy, comfortable and secure.

^this^

It is sturdy and comfortable! It takes a few minutes to get it put up, and doesn't always look very nice--look at my post in "hairstyle of the month" thread! lol!--, but it stays out of the way, and holds very well. :)

parkmikii
May 27th, 2015, 07:52 AM