PDA

View Full Version : How do I maintain the auburn shade of my henna? Advice?

ifthemoonsmiled
May 24th, 2015, 12:51 PM
Hi long haired people!

I stopped posting here some time ago because I decided I'm not really interested in growing my hair past collarbone length, and I felt like a fraud. :oops: But I've been lurking in this section for the last few months, looking for henna advice, and I finally decided to come out of the woodwork and just ask.

About me: I have been using henna for many years, and it's slowly become a cool-toned cherry/burgundy red that just doesn't look very nice on me. (I'm naturally a warm dark blonde.) I try to do roots only, but I'm not very good at it, and while I buy BAQ henna, I've never been very picky about the variety I use, and over the winter I got a batch that produced more dark cherry tones.

I used a bunch of the advice here and after many rounds of heavy oilings (with a bit of tea tree oil added each time) and a few vitamin C treatments, I am almost back to the more natural-looking auburn that I like. (I'll probably do a few more treatments but it is much closer than it was.) Now I am trying to figure out what I can do to maintain a more natural warm brown-red henna shade. Tbh, I wouldn't mind pushing the color a little further toward reddish-brown...my taste has changed, and I'm less into the bright henna-red that I used to love.

Questions...

Has anyone achieved a reddish brown on dark blond/light brown hair? What is your mix & procedure?

I'd rather not use any indigo as I'm afraid it will go too dark or cool-toned, but I have some amla and I was wondering if anyone has experience mixing that with henna to get browner results? What proportions of each did you use? How did it turn out? (Obviously I will strand test, but it would be good to know where to begin.)