PDA

View Full Version : When swimming...

Kherome
May 23rd, 2015, 09:49 AM
What do you do with your hair?

I've purchased a swim cap but the thing makes my head feel like its being squeezed like a melon. Perhaps it's just something to get used to?

Larki
May 23rd, 2015, 09:55 AM
Maybe? I used to swim six days a week competitively and never minded the cap - but that was before I started caring about my hair, too. :p But yeah, I would just put my hair in a bun with a cloth-covered hair band and put the cap on. The cap should keep your hair almost entirely dry so there's really no need to worry about chlorine (some nape hair will probably be exposed, but that's about it as long as it's a silicone cap)

Vanilla
May 23rd, 2015, 10:35 AM
I've never used a swim cap before. I usually braid and soak my hair with a leave in conditoner before getting in the pool.

endlessly
May 23rd, 2015, 11:03 AM
Back when I used to swim (several years ago, in fact), I didn't wear anything to protect my hair, which is something I deeply regret. Ideally, I should have coated my hair in conditioner, braided it, and then tucked it into a swim cap because that's the best way of protecting it, but considering how young and naive I was when it came to protecting my hair, I couldn't be bothered at the time. Now, if I were to go swimming, I would do things very differently.

As for the issue you're having with the swim cap, I believe there is a swim cap made for those with very long hair - it has more material in the back for a bun - and I think it's sold online somewhere, but I'm not sure what it's called.

cat11
May 23rd, 2015, 11:17 AM
whatever you do dont put coconut oil all over it and put it in a bun with an acrylic fork and think it will be fine I did this last summer and OH THE AGONY OF THE TANGLES

*stalks thread for better idea*

JadedByEntropy
May 23rd, 2015, 11:29 AM