PDA

View Full Version : I want a trim but terrified of getting a cut instead. I'm Phobic of salons now.

msthinhair
May 18th, 2015, 01:43 PM
People growing out their hair might understand this complaint.
I'm very short under 5'0". My hair is very long and I have been growing it since Oct 2011 after I cut it to my chin from being long.

However, when I ask for a trim at the salon, I get 1-3 inches taken off. This has happened multiple times by multiple hair stylists. One hair stylist suggested I cut my hair short because "It's weighing you down..." I said I'm not interested yet she proceeded to cut it a few inches shorter. I'm pretty shy so I didn't want to comment on it.

Why do some hair stylist insist on cutting my long locks shorter than I request? What can I do if they do this again? :mad:

It's hard to prove especially if they style my hair afterward. I haven't had a trim since Dec 2014, after a stylist that I've been to prior cut about 1.5 inches of my hair.

Thanks for the advice in advance!

Nadine <3
May 18th, 2015, 01:51 PM
WHy not buy a shears and learn to trim yourself? That's what I do, I always get the cut I want.

lunalocks
May 18th, 2015, 01:58 PM
People have posted that having a barber trim their hair is not only cheaper but the barber actually takes off only what you want. Others have said show exactly with your fingers how much you want taken off. Our idea of an inch and a hairdressers idea of an inch can be different! I think they take it as an approximate.

Some hairdressers think they know best for you and therefore do things you have not agreed on. They will make your hem thinner so it is softer (I found THAT out by observing my daughter's haircut), use heat or products you may not want on your hair, and hot water to wash or high heat when they blow dry. You can even ask them to not blow dry. Make sure, right upfront, exactly what you want and do not want them to do.

msthinhair
May 18th, 2015, 02:00 PM