PDA

View Full Version : Long time lurker, once made account - now back again thanks to hair disaster.

Eleven
May 16th, 2015, 02:03 PM
Hello everyone. I don't think I have ever properly introduced myself.

I have made this account a while ago. But soon life wanted attention (lots of big changes in a short periode of time) so I wasn't very active.
Recently, I've been going through some big changes again. I'm graduating university soon, and I'm finding it very hard to find a job (I have a social worker degree and l've almost got a masters degree in public health). My partner is a med student, and is going trough some big changes as well. He has not been around very much lately: always studying, doing internships, etc.

Needless to say, in my search to find something I could 'control', I cut my hair. I had midback hair and cut it into a long bob ('lob'). It came trough as a shock at first, but I loved it. I could still do a lot of updo's, braids, ... To keep myself happy. The longest ends (in the front) were still at APL. Soon I found out that in order to maintain that perfect lob shape, regular trims were necessary. So I went to my hairdresser. Asked for a trim. And ended up with hair at shoulder length, with lots of afwul layers. This cut does not suit me at all. Since my hair is quite thick, the ends are flippy. And I just can not cope with how - in my eyes - short it is. Thanks to the layers I am no longer able to make any braid or updo, except the tiny ponytail. The thought of having to use a flat iron every day to manage the flips is making me cringe - I'm not a fan of these things at all.

I've been thinking of getting it cut again to get rid of these afwul flippy ends and layers but I can honestly say I'm not going to handle losing more length well. So for now, I'm wearing it up (read: teeny tiny ponytail) all the time, since I can't stand my hair in any other way. In my eyes, it's disgusting.