PDA

View Full Version : Hi everyone! Total Newbie here needing help!

WhimsicalWillow
May 12th, 2015, 04:07 PM
Hi everyone! I am so happy to finally be a part of this community after being a lurker for the past couple of weeks. My last trim was in October and while I had medium-long hair before that, I have been growing my hair ever since! Unfortunately, I have really baby fine thin hair. I have tried to put coconut oil in my hair and use conditioner but it makes my hair extremely stringy looking right after. Is there anything I can do to avoid this? Also, I used to love using curling irons to curl my hair about once a week to give it more volume and more of a "polished" Kate Middleton-esque look but now I am trying to switch to sponge curlers instead... I also have been braiding my hair every night to try to prevent breakage and I also like the waves it creates.

How can I figure out my hair type? I want to add in my hair stats but I don't know how. I am a total newbie to all of this!
My hair is very very very fine.... I am actually scheduling a dermatology appointment because I am concerned that I could be losing hair. Every time I put my fingers through my hair, about 2 strands comes out! Also, on my left side near the temple it is so thin there that it looks like I'm balding... I am actually really paranoid about it and I've been losing sleep over it :/... Also, I notice that my hair "snaps" VERY easily... if I tough my hair the wrong way too quickly it will "snap!" or if I comb my hair I will hear snaps. I can't tell if this is a new thing happening or if I am just paying more attention over this.

The vitamins that I am taking include: One a day Women's Multivitamin, Vitamin B complex, Biotin, Iron, (any other recommendations for growing stronger beautiful strands?)
Also currently using: Folicure volumizing shampoo sometimes use John Frieda Volume Shampoo and Paul Mitchell Tea Tree Shampoo (I tend to switch between shampoos after about a month or so)