PDA

View Full Version : Personal Style and Benign Neglect

noreenw
April 24th, 2015, 05:46 AM
Hey all!

I'm a college student, and one of my personal goals for the next year is to develop more of a personal style (in hair, clothes, makeup, etc). I really admire girls I see in daring but cute outfits! And my 'style' right now is consistently sweaters and leggings, so it's time for a change, hehe.

I think one of the things that contributes to my 'grandma-chic- look is the fact that my hair's always up in a scrunchie bun... not exactly the most fashion-forward style, but so comfortable and good for hair growth! A lot of the styles I really admire aren't protective at all (and my APL hair is too short for the amazing braided updos I see posted here).

Anybody have ideas for more 'fun, youthful' protective styling?? :disco:

Laurenji
April 24th, 2015, 05:58 AM
One thing that really helped me when my hair was APL was to split it into sections. Two cinnabuns, one on each side is really cute, and you can play around with having them high or low on your head for different looks. You could also do two or three buns in a vertical row - it looks kind of like a French Twist. Speaking of which, French Twists are nice, although they're fairly formal looking. Gibson Tucks were another of my favorite styles at APL. If you know how to do French/Dutch braids, there's a lot you can do with those, even at APL as well. A tucked French braid looks really cute and is easier to do with hair that length.

Arctic
April 24th, 2015, 06:06 AM
Sounds like a fun project! I've been revamping my style as well in the past few years (slowly, in spurts).