PDA

View Full Version : Hair Drying Conundrum

griffinthecat
April 22nd, 2015, 11:35 AM
I’m new here, and I’m just getting started on my hair journey. I have a question about drying one’s hair. I have to wash my hair every day or it becomes a grease bomb. I’m not interested in stretching my washings at this time. So that puts me in a catch twenty two. The way I see it, I have two options. 1. I shower at night and go to bed with wet hair. It dries with weird kinks and doesn’t look professional. I can braid it, but then I get frizzy even weirder kinks that I don’t like. 2. I shower in the morning and blow dry my hair straight. I prefer this look, but I know daily heat is bad for my hair.

So, am I missing something? Is there something I can change? What option should I go for?

Nesoi
April 22nd, 2015, 11:45 AM
Have you tried wrapping your wet hair in a microfibre towel? I find that if I keep it in there while I dress, makeup, eat breakfast, it's honestly almost dry when I take it down. Then I let it air dry on my way to work and put it up when I get there.

meteor
April 22nd, 2015, 12:02 PM
Welcome to the LHC! :cheer:

It's hard for me to recommend post-wash styling without knowing your length.
If your hair is long enough to be put up, you can damp-bun hair that way. Or use blow-drying on cool or light-warm setting, that's not damaging. For towels, I prefer cotton T-shirts to towels, because they aren't as rough on hair cuticle and thus help avoid frizz.
You could wash your hair at night and set it in foam rollers or mini-buns (with or without setting product like mousse) for the night, as well.
You could also experiment with dry shampoos and scalp-only washes to avoid long drying times...

arr
April 22nd, 2015, 12:09 PM