PDA

View Full Version : I'm a hair dye newbie! I'd like some advice and tips for color-treated hair

Luminaria
April 9th, 2015, 05:55 AM
Last week, I dyed my hair with a chemical hair dye. I didn't lighten my hair; I just added a dark plum color to my virgin dark brown hair. I've never dyed my whole head with a permanent hair dye before, so I would like some advice and tips on caring for color-treated hair.

I also have a few questions too:
[1] The day before I dyed my hair, I applied a mayo mask to my hair and shampooed it out. Can you lessen damage to the hair by applying a hair mask prior to dyeing? Does it help the color stay in longer? Does it affect the dyeing process in any way?
[2] Can you oil dyed hair? Does oiling cause hair color to fade more easily? Which oils works best?
[3] Can you use essential oils (specifically, rosemary or lavender) on dyed hair? Do they alter or fade hair color?
[4] How often must you use hair masks to counteract any dryness?
[5] When the color grows out, how can you make your hair look as though it is an ombre rather dyed hair growing out?
[6] When the color fades, can you mix Kool-Aid with some conditioner into a mask to enrich the color? Does using blue Kool-Aid add a cool tone to reddish hair?

**Please check out my blog if you would like more details on my hair dyeing experience**

Thanks for any replies in advance~!

laceyfairy
April 9th, 2015, 06:08 AM
I'm answering in reverse order because it was easier for scrolling up, sorry for the inconvenience.

6. You can probably use kool aid but it's easier and less temporary to just use a vegetable dye.
5. To make it look more ombre, you can bring the dye up so that the line of demarcation is less harsh at the roots- blending some into the grown out color but not up to the scalp.
4. Use hair masks as you see fit. Avoid honey, lemon, and other ingredients that may fade the dye.
3. I don't have any experience with essential oils but I don't see why not.