PDA

View Full Version : How to get rid of that waxy feeling of my hair?

adseg2cf
April 6th, 2015, 12:04 PM
Hello everyone!

I'm relatively new to proper hair care as I used to shampoo/condition my hair with cheap, high street products everyday, without the knowledge that shampooing/conditioning every single day isn't the best for your hair. I have thick, wavy hair, and I don't colour it or use too many styling products in it, just a little bit of pomade when I want to style it. Recently I've changed my hair care routine to improve my hair health and here are my changes to my routine:

1. Organic Aloe Vera shampoo (contains SLS) by "Dr. Organic" every 3 days
2. Organic Argan Oil conditioner by "Dr. Organic" every 3 days
3. Rinse out with cold/luke warm water instead of hot water
4. Pat drying/air drying instead of blowdrying.
5. Shower every day but I wash hair with only water on the days I don't use those products.
6. Use coconut oil to leave in my hair about once every 2 weeks, usually left in for a day and then washed out in the shower.

Very recently I have noticed that my hair, both roots and ends, are waxy/slightly sticky to the touch, and this is after taking a shower. It's a bit annoying because my hair is clumping together and looks/feels greasy. It is difficult to run my fingers through my hair without getting stuck. In short - my hair doesn't have the smooth, flowing feel that I'm after. I am prone to getting a little bit of dandruff, and I'm not sure if this is related. One thing I might be doing is using too much conditioner when I shower, I will try and focus on applying a smaller amount and just on the ends. After doing some research I found out about product buildup in hair, and I'm considering trying out a clarifying shampoo once to see if it helps to get rid of the waxy feeling.