PDA

View Full Version : What is it about children or childhood that makes them have thick, beautiful hair?

Sweetalexandria
April 5th, 2015, 03:47 AM
I have noticed many children have thick, lovely hair. Even some children who are fed on a poor diet. I work in a store and there was this adorable little girl (about 8-10 years old) with a very healthy, thick and silky long plait. (The times I have wanted to compliment people's children about their hair!) but I thought that would sound rather odd.

Some little girls have plaits, too large for their little frame.

Ive also talked to a few young people, around 18-26 age group and noticed their hair was thinning and they told me how their hair started to get thinner. But when I saw them as a child (8-14 years old), they had such thick hair and I wondered what had changed.

I don't know whether it is just my observations but what makes children have thick hair?

lazuliblue
April 5th, 2015, 04:03 AM
To me there always seems to be a mixture: some kids have really thick hair, others have average thickness and then there are those with thinner hair. As to why it gets thinner as people get older, it might be because the teenage years are the time when kids start dying, straightening, curling their hair, which damages it and potentially leads to it being less healthy.

Hairkay
April 5th, 2015, 04:07 AM
There's also changes in hormones, diets and the fact that since they get physically bigger the hair ratio to body looks different.

It also depends on hair types and what kind of experimentation the young people are doing on their hair. In my family hair never gets thin. My own retired mother still has thick hair.

vega
April 5th, 2015, 04:47 AM
I've seen plenty of children with very fine hair also , i haven't noticed any trends

Johannah
April 5th, 2015, 05:07 AM