PDA

View Full Version : Sore scalp from fast hair growth?

Wusel
March 29th, 2015, 03:19 PM
Hi everyone :-)
I'm a newbie here, from Germany, and want to grow my hair out looong :-)
On March, 14th I started using hair vitamins and doing the inversion method and drinking a ton of water every day and I experience a massive hair growth. I can braid it now in the back and the braid doesn't fall apart :-)
My hair grew about an inch in two weeks... YAY!
But: Along with the growth my scalp became very tender and sore on the crown, sometimes in the edges...
I've googled this and read that a growth spurt can make the scalp sore and tender...
What do you think about this?
Does it go away after the first couple of weeks of IM and Vitamins?
I'm quite happy with the vitamins as they also give me glowing, clear skin and nice nails.
Thank you very much for help :-)

MINAKO
March 29th, 2015, 04:30 PM
Hi, welcome to LHC! :flower:

Getting right into it, i think the sore scalp would rather be a result of to much rubbing and manipulationg the folicles into different directions. Hairgrowth alone will not cause you any pain.
That being said, it's been two weeks since you started taking these vitamins, if you have been deficient before it might be a useful thing to take them, but the body adjust slowly to these changes. In general i would say you need to take so ething for a few months until it even start working, not on the same day. I know there alot of wishful thinking and some sort of placebo effect behind these things. something i can imagine is that you might have had a reaction to biotin, which causes some people to break out. But if you dont have any noticeable bumps on your scalp thats most likely not the root of the problem.
Be careful with taking over the counter stuff for vanity reasons. Usually i would say eating a balanced diet is all you need to grow healthy hair.
Good luck and happy growing!

spidermom
March 29th, 2015, 06:03 PM