PDA

View Full Version : Had "3" inches chopped off... mortified

LandyNova
March 28th, 2015, 08:16 PM
So I finally broke down and did it - went to the salon and said, look, just cut off everything that's damaged so I can start fresh. Many of you may recall my first post with my hair being extremely long, like, WOW Rapunzel table-convo long! yay! But the breakage was getting to be so severe that the knots were breaking off. I really never had this issue before, just thought maybe I'd hit my limit and needed a good trim, but my usual stylist who is good with long hair has been on maternity leave for like... ever.
Additionally... I'd been having anxiety attacks a lot lately, especially around my hair stylist. While she's super supportive of my desire to have extremely long hair, she was always dropping remarks here and there about how sometimes people might think I'm struggling financially or something because my hair is so long. I graduated high school with her, and I have social anxiety, so I don't know, I'm lucky if I get a trim once a year anyway.

I developed thyroid disease in October 2014 and my hair has at times fallen out in clumps, but for the most part, it's still there... just... gah, I'm now wondering if my thyroid disease is the reason for my tangle issue rather than needing a BIG CHOP.

The stylist who cut my hair had a short purple bob and she was very kind. She suggested "three" inches but it looks more like six. I dunno. My hair now comes down to about my breasts whereas before it came down to my waist (see my profile pic) and is wavy, but the ends of it were really ragged and at times impossible.

Oh, someone said I had my hair listed as 25cm.... when I measured... I put in 25" (inches)... hope that's in there right..

Anyway I'm kind of mortified. I wake up and cringe now. :( Where do I go from here, and please tell me it's not so bad!

Fericera
March 28th, 2015, 08:30 PM