PDA

View Full Version : Time for a trim

Amberlee
October 1st, 2008, 02:35 PM
Any thoughts on how to go about finding a salon? I don't dare go back to my last place - the stylist there didn't really let me have a say - and I put up with it because I always looked nice and didn't really care that I was two shades darker than I would've picked. This time around, I do care - I'm loving my longer hair and want to keep it.

I don't know anyone I feel comfortable asking - all overstyled overcolored, overcut as far as I'm concerned and I did a google search (yes, I'm a rocket scientist) and didn't come up with anything helpful - a couple of salons that want to sell me on their long hair processing techniques is all.

I'm thinking I could just walk into a great clips or similar and get a feel for someone, but if there are tricks out there, I'd like to hear them.

Thanks.

Addy
October 1st, 2008, 02:56 PM
I'd call and ask for a consult. I know that my friend will do that for nervous customers.

It's hard to find someone you can trust to trim long hair. Call around and see if you can speak to a stylist and go from there. I would say the best quality in a stylist for me would be that they listen to what I want!

Good Luck! :cool:

Eireann
October 1st, 2008, 03:03 PM
If you're willing to say where you live, I think there are probably some people on this forum who might know a long-hair friendly salon or stylist in your area. (If you aren't willing to do so, that's totally cool, too, of course. I'm usually pretty cautious about giving out personal info on the web.)

Amberlee
October 1st, 2008, 03:05 PM
I'm in the Baltimore/DC area. Thanks!

patissegrietje
October 1st, 2008, 03:08 PM
Do you all go to salons for a trim? I usually do, but always end up with an extra layer in my hair, which i don't want.
My ends really need a trim as well, and was thinking about asking a friend i trust to just cut 2 cm...
or might this be a bad idea?

Eireann
October 1st, 2008, 03:16 PM